Board of Directors

Henry Esber, Ph.D.
Chairman of the Board

Henry Esber, Ph.D. is the Chairman of the Board since 2012 and has served as a Director since January 2011. In 2000, Dr. Esber co-founded Bio-Quant, Inc. and served as its Senior Vice President and Chief Business Development Officer from 2000-2010. Dr. Esber has over 35 years of experience in the pharmaceutical service industry, including tenures as Executive Director of Business Development at Charles River Laboratories and Director of the Department of Immunology and Clinical Services at TSI Mason. Dr. Esber also served on the Board of Directors of Apricus Biosciences, Inc. (NASDAQ: APRI) and currently serves on the Board of Directors at several privately held pharmaceutical companies.

Ziad Mirza, M.D.

Ziad Mirza, M.D. has served as a Director since March 2010 and was previously Chairman of the Board from March 2010 to 2012. Dr. Mirza is President and co-founder of Baltimore Medical and Surgical Associates and currently serves as the Medical Director of six nursing homes in the Baltimore area and as the Medical Director of The Greater Baltimore Medical Center Wound Care and Hyperbaric Unit. Additionally, Dr. Mirza is currently enrolled as an investigator in Stem Cell Research in Diabetic Foot Ulcers. Dr. Mirza is double boarded in Internal Medicine, Dive and Hyperbaric Medicine and in 1999 Dr. Mirza became a Certified Medical Director of long-term care through the American Medical Directors Association. In October 2003 Dr. Mirza received accreditation as a Certified Physician Executive from the American College of Physician Executives (ACPE) and in 2007 he obtained his MBA in Health Care from the University of Massachusetts.

Vivian Liu

Vivian Liu has served as a Director since January 2011. Additionally, Ms. Liu served as our President & CEO from January 2011 to January 2012. In 1995, Ms. Liu co-founded NexMed, Inc., which was renamed Apricus Biosciences, Inc. (NASDAQ: APRI) in 2010. Ms. Liu served as NexMed's President and Chief Executive Officer from 2007-2009, after having served in various executive capacities. Ms. Liu was appointed to the NexMed Board of Directors in 2007 and served as its Chairman of the Board from 2009-2010. Prior to co-founding NexMed, Ms. Liu was the Commercial Attaché with the Delegation of Quebec in Los Angeles, responsible for business development projects for the medical, pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries. Ms. Liu is currently a partner in OxOnc Development LP, a privately held oncology development company funded by Orbimed Advisors and a member of the Board of Directors of Cesca Therapeutics, Inc., (Nasdaq: KOOL).

Bassam Damaj, Ph.D.

Dr. Bassam Damaj was appointed to serve as our President & CEO on January 22, 2013. Prior to joining Innovus Pharma, Dr. Damaj served as President & Chief Executive Officer of Apricus Biosciences, Inc., (NASDAQ: APRI) from December 2009 until November 2012. At Apricus Bio, Dr. Damaj was responsible for the approval of its lead drug, Vitaros, a treatment for erectile dysfunction. Dr. Damaj also signed multimillion dollar partnerships between Apricus Bio and leading pharmaceutical companies such as Abbott, Novartis-Sandoz and Takeda. Before Apricus Bio, Dr. Damaj was a co-founder of Bio-Quant, Inc. and served as the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer and a Director of Bio-Quant's Board of Directors from its inception in June 2000 until its acquisition by Apricus Biosciences in December 2009. In addition, Dr. Damaj was the founder, Chairman, President & Chief Executive Officer of R&D Healthcare, and the co-founder of Celltek Biotechnologies. He also served as a Director of the Board of Directors at CreAgri, Inc. and was a Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of MicroIslet, Inc. He is the author of the Immunological Reagents and Solutions reference book, the inventor of many patents and author of numerous peer reviewed scientific publications. Dr. Damaj won a US Congressional award for the Anthrax Multiplex Diagnostic Test in 2003. Dr. Damaj holds a Ph.D. degree in Immunology/Microbiology from Laval University and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in molecular oncology from McGill University.